My my, time flies

It was brought to my attention that I haven’t posted on this blog for a while. Meaning more than a year. It’s somewhat alarming, but I can directly pinpoint the change as being when I got a new job, so I don’t feel too bad. Just… in the yoke of wretchedness….

To make it all better, I have posted information on my latest Nanowrimo project, A Horde of Gummies. If anyone is interested in actually reading the book, let me know, and I’ll send you the epub (or pdf). I’m insanely curious as to how it reads to other people. (But also covertly embarrassed.)

In other news, I have discovered the importance of highlighters for non-fiction books. A few years ago, writing in a book was equivalent to defacing a sacred work… but now I’ve realized life is too short to hunt through a book for ‘that one part’.

I’m currently reading Characters and Viewpoint, by Orson Scott Card, which is straightforward and useful. One of the parts I highlighted was something akin to ‘people are different people depending on whom they’re with’. To me, my character is always my precious character as I see her. But she can’t be. She has to be different to different people. She’s going to be quiet around her teachers, but more outspoken when she’s with her best friend, bossier around her little brother, and childlike around her doting father. As Card points out, people have different histories with different people. Different jokes, different keywords, etc.

Also, people live up to expectations. Meaning, if your manager treats you like you are amazing, you’ll do your best to be amazing. If your big brother treats you like a kid, you’ll probably act like a kid around him. If someone you respect turns to you for an opinion, you won’t want to disappoint them.

So… everything is awesome!

About myrakarine

I write fantasy. 8 novels during Nanowrimo, and a few more outside of that. At some point I will get serious about being published, but for now I simply practice, enjoy myself, and look for feedback.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My my, time flies

  1. jguenther5 says:

    “In the Yoke of Wretchedness?” Hmm, catchy title. I was going to write a book titled “LOOK! A SQUIRREL!” a series of first chapters of novels I never finished because I took off after another concept. I started writing it, but…

Leave a Reply

